Sheila Landis / Rick Matle

Beautiful Things

SheLan Records 2016. SL024

"Vocalist Sheila Landis and guitarist Rick Matle…have produced a body of outstanding recordings. Many of the duo's recordings have been a showcase for Landis, one of the more dynamic jazz vocalists on the planet. She has a gorgeous voice. At the drop of a hat, she can change it into a muted trumpet, a trombone, a sax, and even a drum. Her pitch-perfect scatting would make Ella and Armstrong jealous. This time around, Matle's virtuosity, his God-given ability to make his seven-string guitar howl, cry, and melt in the palm of his hands is the draw. 'Fine Fat Daddy', 'Taller in the Morning' and 'In a Mellow Tone' are the cuts likely to garner the most water cooler talk."

Blog: "I DIG JAZZ A Jazz Reviewers Notebook"
Charles L. Latimer, Detroit, MI

  1. I'm Gonna Sit Right Down and Write Myself a Letter
  2. Knock Me A Kiss
  3. Fine Fat Daddy
  4. Vivo Sonhando
  5. The World Is Full of Beautiful Things
  6. When In Doubt, Make Coffee
  7. Caravan
  8. Angel Eyes / Fever
  9. Taller in the Morning
  10. Pennies From Heaven
  11. Besame Mucho
  12. In A Mellow Tone
  13. Girl From Ipanema
  14. Tenderly
  15. I'm Gonna Sit Right Down and Write Myself a Letter (Alternate Take)


  • Sheila Landis: vocals, percussion
  • Rick Matle: 7-string guitar

Produced by Rick Matle

SheLan Records Catalog